Winners have been named in the first ever national awards which celebrate the UK’s Paleo food community.

The very best Paleo food producers, bloggers, restaurants, cafes and authors from across the UK entered the inaugural UK Paleo Awards this year.

Categories included Innovative Paleo Product, International Paleo Blogger, Paleo Breakfast Product, Paleo Meat Supplier and more. There were 96 entries for the online awards, with 76 being shortlisted as finalists A total of 9,735 votes were cast by 3,857 individuals and judges scores rated from 1.14 to 9.30 out of 10.

Shropshire businesswoman and awards founder Jan Minihane said the response to the awards had been incredible and said they would be making a return in 2018.

“The thing that kept coming through in our involvement with these awards was the depth of talent and high quality in the Paleo community – the standard was incredibly high,” she said.

“We are delighted to have raised the profile of the Paleo food industry in this way, putting it well and truly under the public spotlight. The awards have been hugely successful and superbly supported.

“It is vitally important to heighten awareness in Paleo food and I would like to thank all those people who helped to make the awards such a success. I am also grateful to all those companies who took part and the people who took the time to vote.

“The whole thing has been such a worthwhile experience and we must now sit down and decide how we will proceed with 2018.

“We took the decision to have an online-only awards for this first year and will look at that to see if it is the best way to continue moving forward.

“The awards were sponsored by Free-From Heaven magazine, which was also the awards’ media partner.”

Other sponsors included Free-From Inspired online magazine, for free-from and Paleo recipes, lifestyle tips and advice; Healthy Perspective, the UK’s largest Paleo and Clean Living directory website, and the Paleo website ‘Path to Paleo’.

The awards saw major success for Gloucestershire company Primal Joy, who lifted two honours – Snack of the Year and Innovative Product of the Year, while Shropshire company Fordhall Organic Farm won Paleo Meat Supplier of the Year and was runner-up in the Business of the Year category.

A Paleo diet largely cuts out processed and artificial food, grain, sugar and dairy, harking back to our paleolithic ancestors.

WINNERS 2017:

Paleo Meat Supplier of the year

Runner-up: Peelham Farm Produce, Berwickshire, Scotland http://www.peelham.co.uk

Winner: Fordhall Organic Farm, Shropshire, England https://fordhallfarm.com 

Paleo-friendly Restaurant, Café or Delivery Service of the year

Runner-up: Power Kitchen, Wigan, Greater Manchester http://power-kitchen.com

Winner: Primal Roost, Bagshot, Surrey http://www.primalroost.com 

Paleo-friendly Drink of the year

Runner-up: Borough Broth Co, Free-Range Organic Chicken Broth http://www.boroughbroth.co.uk

Winner: Love Kombucha, Ginger & Lime Kombucha http://www.lovekombucha.co.uk 

Paleo Snack of the year

Runner-up: Wilding Snacks, Wilding’s Peking Duck Crackling http://www.wildingsnacks.com

Winner: Primal Joy, Rich Chocolate Brownie http://www.primaljoy.co.uk

Paleo Blogger of the year

Runner-up: Greens of the Stone Age http://greensofthestoneage.com/

Winner: Eighty 20 Nutrition http://eighty20nutrition.com/ 

International Paleo Blogger of the year

Runner-up: Jill Speer, Girl Gone Paleo http://www.girlgonepaleo.com/

Winner: ChihYu Smith, I Heart Umami http://iheartumami.com 

Innovative Paleo Product of the year

Runner-up: Natural Evolution Europe Ltd, Ultimate Gluten Free Green Banana Baking Flour https://www.naturalevolutionfoods.uk

Winner: Primal Joy, Fig & Orange Pudding Bar http://www.primaljoy.co.uk

Paleo Breakfast Product of the year

Runner-up: Nut Blend, Perfect Nut Butter http://www.nutblend.com/

Joint Winner: Haughton Honey, 100% Pure English Honey http://www.haughtonhoney.com

Joint Winner: Nut Blend, Golden Nut Butter http://www.nutblend.com/

Paleo Book/eBook of the year

Runner-up: Paleo:12 Weeks to Change Your Life by Rebecca Field http://www.paleodietandfitness.co.uk/

Winner: Eat Drink Paleo Cookbook by Irena Macri http://eatdrinkpaleo.com.au/eat-drink-paleo-cookbook/ 

Paleo Food Business of the year

Runner-up: Fordhall Organic Farm https://fordhallfarm.com

Winner: The Primal Pantry http://www.primalpantry.com 

Best Paleo-friendly Chocolate of the year

Runner-up: The Raw Chocolate Company, Raw Chocolate Mulberries http://www.therawchocolatecompany.com

Winner: Forever Cacao, 80% Signature Bar http://www.forevercacao.co.uk

Paleo Recipe of the Year

Runner-up: Carrot Cake, Donna Crous, Eighty 20 Nutrition http://eighty20nutrition.com/

Winner: Crispy Skin Chicken with Sweet Potatoes & Broccoli Slaw, Irena Macri, Eat Drink Paleo http://eatdrinkpaleo.com.au/eat-drink-paleo-cookbook/

Judges Excellence Awards

Winner: Peelham Farm, Rack of Lamb http://www.peelham.co.uk

Winner: Wilding’s Peking Duck Crackling http://www.wildingsnacks.com

 

Outstanding Contribution to the UK Paleo Community

Winner: Darryl Edwards, Primal Play https://www.primalplay.com/

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here